Covid-19 update.

More info

Back to News and Media

Winning big at the Australasian Fleet Champions Awards 2021

It was a huge night of virtual celebrations!

Waste Management attended the Australasian Fleet Champions Awards 2021 by Zoom (COVID strikes again) and our incredible team won three major awards.

Head of Safety and Risk Guy Smith says it’s wonderful recognition for our team who are constantly innovating with safety and sustainability in mind.

Safe Vehicles Award – WINNER

We won the main prize for our LEV safety barrier innovation, which is a first-of-a-kind design in New Zealand. The device basically eliminates the risk of a driver being able to exit a vehicle when it’s moving, and so is incredibly important to the safety of our team and others. The barrier is linked to an electronic door release which connects to the engine management system, so the barrier will not open until the trucks comes to a complete stop. If the driver tries to move the truck with the barrier open, the brakes won’t release.

Road Safety in the Community Award – WINNER

We won for our participation in the Share the Road initiative, where our team members regularly take part in community information sessions designed to keep cyclists safe around heavy vehicles. We have also initiated safety signs to be installed on the rear of some kerbside collection vehicles, which prompt cyclists to pass on the open side when the truck is collecting.

Fleet Safety Product Award – HIGHLY COMMENDED

We received highly commended for our Driver Cam initiative – which has installed 700 vehicles with a new version of Drive Cam to improve driver behaviour, effectively capture any incidents and assist with training – among many other benefits.

Our recognition at this year’s awards celebrates the ongoing hard work of our Fleet and Operations teams who strive every day to be leaders in safety and innovation.

The Australasian Fleet Champions Awards is sponsored by Waka Kotahi NZ Transport Agency and is entered by safety-driven companies across New Zealand, Australia and the Pacific.